Posted by: Business Law EBooks | May 13, 2009

IRS Employee/Independent Contractor Proper Work Classification

Meeting: Proper Worker Classification
Date(s): May 20, 2009
Time: Various
Location: Your home or office
Contact: Glenn Gizzi; E-mail: nationalphoneforum@irs.gov
Event Information: Learn about proper worker classification.
***Event Material: Proper Worker Classification (PDF)

This IRS phone forum is for:

  • Tax Professionals
  • Small Business Employers
  • Small Business Organizations
  • Industry Partners

Topics include:

  • Worker classification categories, employee vs. independent contractor
  • Categories of evidence for proper classification
  • Worker classification related forms
  • Treatment of corporate officers
  • Section 530 relief requirements

Earn Continuing Professional Education credit:

  • Enrolled agents receive one CPE credit for a minimum of 50-minute participation from the start of the forum.
  • Other tax professionals may receive credit if the phone forum meets your organizations or states CPE requirements.
  • To receive credit, register individually and use your PIN.
  • Call in using your individual phone line so your attendance can be verified.
  • Look for your Certificate of Completion by e-mail approximately one week after the forum. If you have met all requirements, you will receive your certificate automatically; there’s no need to follow up.

If you and others in your office do not require a CPE certificate, please have only one person register on the group’s behalf and use your speaker phone to dial in. This will maximize the number of lines available for other participants and help reduce costs.

Sign up now (and no later than May 15, 2009)

Select the time that works best for you. All times are Eastern daylight.

CONFERENCE ACCESS CODE
140711 – 10:00 a.m. (EDT); 9:00 a.m. (CDT); 8:00 a.m. (MDT); 7:00 a.m. (PDT)
311314 – 1:00 p.m. (EDT); 12:00 p.m. (CDT); 11:00 a.m. (MDT); 10:00 a.m. (PDT)
719050 – 4:00 p.m. (EDT);  3:00 p.m. (CDT); 2:00 p.m. (MDT); 1:00 p.m. (PDT)

Register at the AT&T TeleConference Services Web site (www.attevent.com) by May 15, 2009. Reservations are limited, so register at the earliest date possible. You will receive a Personal Identification Number that you must use to join the conference.
If you have never registered with AT&T for a prior phone forum, you will first need to click on create a profile. If you require special accommodations (for example, Braille, large print or interpreter services) please contact Brian Finn at nationalphoneforum@irs.gov. We will e-mail presentation materials on May 19, 2009. If you do not receive this e-mail by 2:00 p.m. on May 19, 2009, e-mail us at  nationalphoneforum@irs.gov to request the materials.

Dial in on May 20, 2009
Toll free: (800) 683-4564
Toll: (913) 312-2904

  • Dial in at least 5 to 10 minutes before the scheduled time
  • Enter your access code, then the pound (#) sign
  • Enter your PIN, then the pound (#) sign
  • Your line will be placed on hold until the conference begins

A question and answer period will follow the presentation. However, due to the public nature of the call, we will not be able to address specific client issues.

Questions? E-mail nationalphoneforum@irs.gov
Sponsored by: IRS Small Business/Self-Employed, Communications, Liaison & Disclosure, Stakeholder Liaison Field

Rate the Small Business and Self-Employed Web Site

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Categories

%d bloggers like this: